How Using CIAO! Check-out Can Keep Your Changes Safe
While you can view the design of an element someone else has checked out, if you try to save any changes, you see a message telling you who the element is checked out to.
If CIAO! client is on your computer and you are saving a design element not checked out to anyone on a CIAO!-watched database, then CIAO! will ask you to check out that design element.
If the database is watched by CIAO! Server Edition, but you do not have CIAO! Client Edition installed locally (or you do have CIAO! installed, but it is disabled), you see a message telling you that you are not authorized to perform that operation.